Brand New, Shiny Blog

I’ve been meaning to start a personal blog forever. So here it is. I’m starting this one up especially for my No More HumDrum Mittens exchange pal. That way I won’t need to post my questionaire to the Yarn Love blog. If you just so happen to me my Mitten Pal, then you can check me out over at www.bungalowmum.blogspot.com. It’s more related to my yarn business, but there’s lots of info about me there as it’s been around significantly longer. Yay!

No More HumDrum Mittens Exchange Questionnaire

 Btw, I really like the name of this swap! It’s great!

How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? My mom taught me how to knit and purl as a child. However, I disliked it and only took it up again when I was pregnant with our first babies. That was a little over 4 years ago. I’ve knit constantly since then, and now I have a yarn dyeing business.

Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced? I’m somewhere between intermediate and advanced. I still feel like there are a lot of techniques out there that I’d like to try, but I have quite a few under my belt.

What are your favorite colors? Any you dislike? Well, I really don’t have a favorite color. However, my winter coat is bright fuchsia. I mean, this sucker is really bright. It’s a knee length down coat that is bright fuchsia. So if my pal would include perhaps an accent of fuchsia in the mittens, that would be awesome! I’m considering knitting my hat with a main color of chocolate brown or black and an accent of fuchsia to match. I really do adore color, and don’t be afraid of bright.

Do you like Latvian type patterns? If so, what are your favorite patterns? I do love Latvian type patterns, here are some that I found that I like. (I’m open to more patterns, too.)  http://www.liis.lv/cimdi/frame1.htm 

http://www.liis.lv/cimdi/frame1.htm 

http://www.liis.lv/cimdi/frame1.htm 

http://www.liis.lv/cimdi/frame1.htm 

Do you desire mittens for yourself, your “special someone else” or your child? For me!

What other things do you enjoy knitting? Socks and sweaters, hats and mittens. I’m up for about anything, really.

What sort of needles do you enjoy working with? (straights vs circs, bamboo vs aluminum) I’m a die hard nickel plated circular needle girl. I have a complete options set, a bunch of Addi turbos, and now just a few Harmony needles. I love the pretty colors of the Harmony needles, although they do slow me up a bit.

What’s one project you’ve not yet tried but are dying to make? Felted clogs. I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.

What’s one yarn you’ve not yet tried but are dying to work with? Cashmere…and most other indie dyers. I love indie dyed yarns. I did just purchase some Alpaca Sox yarn which I’m really very curious about, but I haven’t had time to cast on, yet.

What other hobbies do you have? Do you spin? Sew? Garden? Cook? I love to cook, I do sew, but not nearly as much as I used to. I spin fairly frequently, and I own two spinning wheels. The vast majority of my time is spent watching my kids, dyeing yarn, and knitting.

Besides yarn, do you collect anything? Not really….unless you count dessert. But I really don’t collect that, I consume it.

What kind of goodies do you enjoy? Sweets? Salty? Anything you hate or are allergic to? I love sweets like no other. Especially chocolate. I don’t have any food allergies, but I don’t prefer most fish or shellfish. But I doubt you’d mail me fish, anyway.

Do you have any kids? Pets? I have three toddlers. My oldest are three year old twins (both girls) and we also have a son who’s nearly 2 years old.

What is your favorite part of Winter? Snow! I love snow. I love how pretty it looks and building snowmen and sledding. I even like to shovel.

What is your least favorite part of Winter? How cold it gets here. -20 is not uncommon. Plus, I live at the edge of town and the wind sucks. I also hate trudging to the mailbox through the snow. It’s cold and it makes a mess in my house….but pretty yarn comes in the mail…and i love how the snow looks on the ground. I guess I’m picky.

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting

Leave a Reply

