Fairy Crowns and Birthday Parties

I spent all yesterday morning making fairy crowns for the girlies’ birthday party. They’re still a work in progress, but it felt good to dig around in the stash of creative detrius and make something new and different. I am very used to the idea of cultivating and using a stash. I recently organized my sock yarn stash. I would have done more, but I ran out of plastic shoe boxes. But stash use is usually reserved for knitting, as I don’t really do many other crafts.

I was inspired by these fairy crowns on etsy. Mine aren’t nearly as cool as those ones, but considering that I need to make a minimum of 8 girly fairy crowns in order for all potential female birthday guests under the age of 8 to wear, I’m not sweating it. I’m consoling myself with the knowledge that 1.) I made all the current fairy crowns from stuff I had on hand. yay! 2.) I’m going to either buy or recycle some silk flowers from my mom to finish them out. 3.) They’re not done because they don’t have the flowers yet.

Do you know how much easier it is to plan a girl’s birthday party as opposed to a boy’s? Way easier! Especially since the girlies’ b-day is in Spring, they get a large party. The boy usually gets a smaller affair, because our house isn’t great for entertaining large groups when we can’t hang out on the deck. So the girls always get a beautiful birthday dress and a big party. But Little X isn’t entirely left out. When we buy presents for the girls we always make sure all three kids can play with them. And X usually gets a bit more spent on presents to make up for his smaller party. This year, he got a really cool candle wreath. It was a huge hit. He blew out the candles three times. There was no danger of spit flying over the flock of sheep cupcakes or wax melting in. I guess it all works out in the end. I think for his 3rd birthday maybe I’ll work harder on a theme and make him custom party hats. A boy wouldn’t be embarrassed that his mother made him wear a party hat, would he?

I’m making the girls pillowcase dresses out of Amy Butler fabric. It will be Pink Lotus for the top, with a wide band of Full Moon Polka Dots at the hem. Since my favorite place to purchase girly dresses went out of business last year, I’m trying the handmade option this year. It’s a bit daunting, but since in a former life I worked a boutique fabric and sewing machine shop, I know I’ll be fine. It’s my lack of dedicated sewing space that tends to hamstring me. I’ll let you know how it goes. My fabric arrives today and I want to get started!

 Best be off to actually get some work done while the kids are “napping”.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

