Sock blanks and other mayhem

Scarlett O Hara sock blankJust when I get a really good idea….someone else already has it! Oh, well. KnitPicks came out with their new sock blanks recently….just a few days after my Bond Knitting machine arrived for me to work out how to machine knit them for myself. The original plan was to offer these as a new product via Yarn Love….but now I’m going to have to seriously rethink that. I feel like such a copycat – but I wasn’t. I came up with the idea on my own before Knit Picks released their product. Sigh. The good news is that I can use my favorite sock yarns for my own blanks and they can’t. It’s not a total loss; I can always knit them for myself and me content with that!

New Couch – delivered to your door!

I ordered a couch off the internet. It came and I’m happy. There’s a company by the name of HomeReserve and they sell couches that you assemble. You get your choice of style and fabric, and it comes straight to your door where you put it together. The main reason we chose this company over more traditional furniture is that every single piece of fabric on the couch is washable.

If you don’t have children, this probably isn’t a big deal….but for those of you who have ever stared at a traditional piece of upholstery freshly covered in toddler vomit, you will understand the sheer genius of this couch. Better yet, if you have commitment issues, you can replace all the fabric and cushions with a new for $150 – 200 bucks. New look, low price!

They are surprisingly comfy despite the lack of springs. (There are three storage compartments under the seat cushions instead of springs.) The cushions are firmer than our previous, overstuffed couch, but the scale is much better for me. I can sit on the couch without having to prop a large throw pillow behind me. Yay new couch!

I am planning on dressing it up with some pretty throw pillows. Geisha Fans by Amy Butler in the olive colorway are on the radar…right after I finish sewing the girlies’ window treatments and the bra kits that I ordered….I have no idea when I’ll get them done.

Nick and Joe with the first piece

Jack and I with the cushions

Couch assembled

Finito!

 

 

Super Secret Project

Stripes over dyed skeinWell, I went and started a long term, super secret project. It involves yarn. It involves dye. It involves writing. We’ll see how I do. It’s a new venture and one with an uncertain outcome. But along the way there will be lots of yarn and photos and fun. I started it late in the week. Here’s one of the skeins that dyed for it. Over dyed stripes. I’ve been itching to knit it up, but I can’t. It must be saved for professional photography purposes. Sigh. Dyeing new yarn is so hard to resist.

More super secret stuff as I get it done…but not all of it, because then it wouldn’t be a secret, would it?

Striped yarn ball

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Sock blanks and other mayhem

  1. That couch looks pretty awesome. The knitting machine sounds nifty, and who cares what KnitPicks does anyway? I think the entirety of the yarny world is built upon adjusting a product someone else sells anyway.

    Super secret yarn looks nifty. Why can’t you be knitted, super secret yarn? Why do you hate the knitting needles?

  2. Come on, from what I’ve heard, Knitpicks sock yarn pills like heck. Bet that your sock blanks would be WAY better. I’d rather buy a sock blank from you than from them—at least I’d know that it would be quality!

  3. jinniver

    I think Jacki’s right–most of the general ideas are not unique; it’s what you do with them. If you’re offering better quality blanks (and Genuine vouches for you 🙂 ), then there are buyers who will come.

  4. Your sock blanks would be better. I know it. Because you’re a genius that way, and I adore your base yarns.

  5. Marsha

    It’s not like they had the market cornered on that “idea” anyway because before I ever heard of their “sock blanks” I had heard of “flat feet” (I can’t remember who makes those) which is the same thing with a twist. And although I haven’t purchased either – from what I’ve seen of them is that they are different. Be assured, there will be copycats out there. I’m sure you aren’t the only person to think of that or to say – “hey – I could do that”. Heck, I even thought about it after I’d seen the flat feet – because they were the first I’d seen – and then KP was doing it. At least you have the machine – I don’t. You have the yarn – I don’t. I say first of all – call them something else – and put them up on your website. I don’t know if you planned to dye them or offer them blank but I’ll bet you could do both. Like I said, you can be sure someone will do that. And we will buy because we knitters all hanker for the unique!

  6. Soosan

    Had never heard of sock blanks before I found you, while looking at knitpicks site.
    I love to spin and knit so this is right up my alley! Although the dyeing part is fairly new to me, since I only do it once a year or two;)
    But it gives me a reason to try it 😀
    Thank you! You are wonderful, we know you didn’t copy the idea:) You make’em people will buy them! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

