Daily Archives: May 12, 2010

I just spit chocolate muffin on my screen….

I ran across this site surfing through my Wednesday Morning Coffee™, accompanied by a home made chocolate muffin. (Recipe below because they’re amazing. Bonus – they’re wheat free.) It’s really funny and my computer has suffered for it. Not to mention I’m now entitled to a second muffin since I spit a good portion of this one onto my computer.

Warning: there is some profanity. So if you’re at work or have children who can read over your shoulder, you are warned.

Regretsy.com

Wheat Free, Gluten Free Chocolate Muffins That Taste Like Dessert

My recipe, which I invented yesterday inspired by the Gluten Free Goddess’ Chocolate Muffin recipe is below. My husband is allergic to wheat, and I’ve been learning how to bake gluten free things that actually taste good. It’s harder than it sounds, and you need an arsenal of flours to do it. However, once you get a good non-wheat flour mix down, you can really make some tasty baked goods. Some I even prefer to regular wheat containing baked goods because they  have a superior texture & don’t get gummy the next day.

The secret to the recipe below is that you need superfine Brown Rice Flour. Right now, it’s only available from Authentic Foods & it’s expensive to buy and ship. (But worth it if you can’t have wheat flour because the texture is far superior to the coarser ground stuff available in your local store.) Luckily Authentic Foods distributes through Amazon, so you can get it that way if you prefer.

If you have access to a super fast blender like a Vita Mix (my regular blender doesn’t cut it) you can blend regular brown rice flour into super fine rice flour in no time. Thanks Mom, for letting me use your Vita Mix!

1 1/2 C. Superfine Brown Rice Flour Mix*

1/2 C. cocoa powder

1 C. sugar

1 T. baking powder

1 t. baking soda

3/4 t. xanthan gum

1/4 t. salt

1/2 t. cinnamon

1/2 t. nutmeg

1/2 C. canola oil

1/2 C milk

2 eggs, lightly beaten

Preheat oven to 375 degrees Farenheit. Whisk all dry ingredients until well combined. Stir in wet ingredients, scraping down sides of the bowl as necessary.

Fill 12 muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake in preheated oven for 18-13 minutes. (It took me 21.)

Enjoy!

* This mix is from the book  Gluten-Free Baking Classics by Annelise Roberts. I highly recommend this book and use it all the time. Great baked goods from pound cake to cupcakes to pizza crust and sandwich bread. You can buy the mix from Authentic Foods or mix it yourself:

2 parts – Authentic Foods Brown Rice Flour Superfine (2 C.)

2/3 part – potato starch (2/3 C.)

1/3 part – tapioca flour (1/3 C.)

1 Comment

Filed under Cooking